Uncategorized

Confirmation In A Bookstore

As my husband stood in line to get an Iced Vanilla Latte, I roamed around the bookstore inside of the NEX. I love browsing through the rows of books and flipping through different ones. I’ve already done this at least 5 times since we arrived in Rota, and the book section isn’t very large. However, my eyes hadn’t caught the mother/parenting/baby section. Until today…

I stopped for a moment. My eyes stuck on a book cover with a smiling mama-to-be. And again on one with tiny toes and a toothless grin. For a brief time, my thoughts wandered to what our life would be like if we had the sound of a baby cooing in our home. How sweet it would be to have tiny fingers wrapped around my neck. How my husband’s face would light up the first time our little one said “da-da.”

My eyes began to move again and I carried on to the next row of books–pressing forward as I always do, past that small blip in my day. Bibles, Devotionals, and Inspirational–the titles of this next section of crisp books. I browsed longer in this section. I glanced at book covers, and a devotional caught my eye. I flipped it open to a random page to see this:

Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you the desires of your heart.

Psalm 37:4

I read it 3 times over, reflected on it for a moment, and set the book down with a smile on my face. I started walking toward the cafe, feeling certain that Jake would be ready to go. He was just placing his order, which seemed odd. When we first walked in there was only one person ahead of him. He expressed that the cafe is cash only so he had to walk to the ATM, thus taking longer. I’m confident in knowing that was all part of the plan–God’s plan. Had my husband had cash on him, I probably wouldn’t have had time to wander over to the devotionals section. God is good–all of the time.

Leave a comment